More Big Shot: Impressions and the Lattice die

Hi All,

I was playing over at Cheryl’s yesterday and once again the Lattice die caught my eye.  Initially because I wanted to make more of the lamb cards from stamp camp that used this background.   However….this time besides cutting I got into playing with texturz plates and the new Petals a Plenty Impressions Folder.   Started thinking that the lamb would look nice against a wood grain background and….. yeah me and my creative processes get easily distracted – LoL!   Next week (or maybe sooner) I’ll show you some of the other fun I had with the Big Shot and all the lovely new Impressions folders and Movers and Shapers dies from the Holiday mini and……….uh huh, play time was lots of fun!    When you live on a budget having an Upline and friend who doesn’t  mind sharing makes life so much more fun. 

Now however my own Big Shot is feeling just a teensy bit jealous.  Maybe I should take him with me when I go somewhere for a play date (uh business conference)!   Somehow my bad boy always knows when I’ve been playing with someone elses BS!  😀

First up is a scan of several Lattice die cuts.

Lattice die textures 600 dpi 001

Hopefully you can see the following:

Upper right hand corner is a plain die cut using the new In Color Soft Suede.  Moving clockwise the next Soft Suede die cut was cut from a square that had been run through the woodgrain looking Texturz Plate  from Kit #4.  I love this particular texture for creating punch baskets, Flower Pot cards and of course a wood looking lattice ( I also ran some kraft through this so that the next pumpkins I create (see previous stamp camp entry) will have more real looking woody stems!   The bonus on this textured lattice is that the little leaf or petal pieces that fall out will make great looking textured leaves for other projects.  Maybe even on a small wreath.   The next die cut is from Chocolate Chip Textured Cardstock.  The nice thing about this one is the texture is already in the cardstock and though in real life its a bit harder to see than the piece that was run through the Texturz plate the texture that is there goes in several directions (perfect for cutting the pumpkin pieces for a more textured real life looking pumpkin). 

The last piece up top is cut from the new Dusty Durango In Color.  After cutting it was placed in the Petals a Plenty Impressions Folder (new in the Holiday mini pg. 21) kind of an odd looking piece resulted but fun in its own way.  I think next time I’ll try the Finial Press Folder instead as it has a bit more delicate look on punch pieces (oops that’s for next time – hint, hint) so probably would be better for this as well.  One other difference about these is that the Dusty Durango and Chocolate Chip pieces were cut on the fold so actually they are a double folded piece.  And as you will see in the next picture the impressions folder actually left a deep impression in both layers.   Now the folders instructions don’t recommend using more than one piece of paper at a time but I think it’s interesting that two also work.  Not sure though how that might effect the life of the folder though.

Lattice die textures - Durango 001

The picture above shows the Petals a Plenty piece unfolded and if you look carefully you will see that one side shows the positive image and the other shows the reverse or negative image.  If anyone has any ideas on how I might exploit that little design fact I’d love to hear from you.  

I found the greatest advantage to using the Texturz  plates instead of  the Impressions Folders is that you can cover a much larger area with the texturing.  Helpful if you want to use a larger piece in a scrapbook page or larger project.   Another thought is that since you can fold the paper several times and get a piece almost approx. 8×8 you could create your own mats for holiday tablescapes or other home decorating uses.   I really have to remember to try that out next time so I can show you what that looks like!  And if I could only remember to take my camera to the studio I could show you how to place these on the fold for best results.  Hmm…note to self…store camera in craft travel bag.

That’s it for today.  I wanted you to see the additional possibilities and design choices you have when it comes to combining your Big Shot accessories.  Next time in the Big Shot department I’ll show you some ideas for the Movers and Shapers dies and how you can combine the Impressions Folders with them for a unique look.

And as always if you have any questions or want further details about this post subject or are interested in ordering any of these fun products you can reach me with an email or phone call.

Hugs and blessings and don’t forget to spend a little time each day creating – Jean

Leave a Reply

