Due to technical considerations Tightwad Tuesday has been temporarily postponed

 

Hi All,

Due to technical considerations Tightwad Tuesday has been temporarily postponed – While it’s still Tuesday in my corner of the world the usual Tightwad activities are under revision….

Just a quick post to tell you that Tightwad Tuesday has been temporarily postponed until I sort out the new rules for blog posting that SU has just notified all demo’s about.   Major changes are in the offing that effect what links I can use or display and still be an SU demo so until that gets sorted out I’ll have to change somewhat the nature of many of my posts.    In the meantime here are a few scans of my playtime Saturday with SU’s new Lattice die.     

******************************
  
Here are the bits and pieces I’m playing with from the Lattice and Scallop Square Clear Bigz dies.  My apologies for the scan quality but I think you can see enough to tell what is going on.
 
Lattice Bits from scraps 001    Lattice pieces and negative 001 
 
     Lattice 2 - samples in process 001   Lattice 1 samples in progress 001
 
        Lattice & Scallop Square Base cards 1 001   Lattice & Scallop Square Base Cards 2 001
 
These are just pieces in process I’m playing with and not finished cards by any means but I thought you might like to see my design process (ie weird brain freeze moments) in progress.  I was thrilled at what resulted when I tossed a few small scraps on the lattice die (well okay I tried to place them somewhat symmetrically :D). 
 
There are even more little pieces that fall out from the lattice but I’m too tired to do any more scanning tonight so will save those for a later expanded post.  I’m quite sure I can come up with fun flowers etc. from the tiny bits and pieces. 
 
Of these scrap pieces Only one of the pieces – the round one – was trimmed with scissors.  Everything else is how it came out of the die.  The long piece that is used to fold over the card bases and also shown open in the middle photos was made by placing a folded piece of cardstock just slightly below the edge of the die and is basically two lattice pieces joined with a fold.  Other demo’s tell me it’s possible to get an almost full page size by increasing the folds and then opening out like a snowflake or paper doll after cutting. 
The Chocolate Chip card base is the negative piece left over from cutting out the lattice and then it had a piece of Very Vanilla added as an insert to provide backing and contrast for the scrap pieces that fit back into the lattice negative. 
 
Tip:  Everything from the die cutting process can be used if you plan ahead or are lucky enough to have a creative accident that works :D!
I originally figured out the smallest size I could use and not “waste” paper and luckily that was within a normal card size spectrum so will fit in an A2 envelope quite easily.  I have to admit though that I didn’t originally plan on using the negative as a card base I thought I would be using it for punch pieces or whatever but once I saw it folded and a piece of contrast paper got stuck inside (yes my table was a bit messy) I realized I had a card in the making! 
 
Tip:You will probably be happiest with how the small scrap pieces turn out if you place them symmetrically on the die before cutting.  This also makes it easier for them to fit back into the negative if you decide to use it as a card base or frame.  On the other hand it’s good for your brain and soul to just play and see what results.  Happy accidents are rarely planned!
 
 
The one missing image?  The basic die cut!  Funny that with all these fun pieces I can’t find the one normal piece I cut.  I’d suspect Sandycat of skulduggery but she’s sound asleep and hasn’t moved from her pillow since I opened the craft keeper I had these pieces in.   Hmmm….maybe it’s still sitting on Cheryl’s craft table (Thanks Cheryl and Linda for letting me play with your new dies)!  Can you tell I got just a bit carried away with the alternate uses and didn’t pay a lot of attention to the normal ones??  Scary how my mind goes down that alternate path so easily :D!
 
For those interested the yellowish background was just a contrast copy paper sheet I tossed over the pieces to get a better scan image.  The pieces themselves were cut from Kiwi Kiss and Real Red and Chocolate Chip Textured Cardstock and the white looking pieces are actually Very Vanilla (my favorite neutral).  I’ll post some completed cards using these pieces once I can stop playing with the alternate ideas flooding my brain.
 
One other note.  The bottom two sets used a folded cardstock piece with the new Scallop Square Clear Bigz die to create a scalloped square card.  The Vanilla Base had the fold placed lower to make a complete scallop at the top of the card and ended up creating a smaller slightly rectangular card.  After consideration I decided I liked the more square base even if it had only a partial scallop. As pictured below.
 
 
 
Scallop Square corner with fold placed lower on the die below the full scallop

Scallop Square corner with fold placed lower on the die below the full scallop

Scallop Square corner with fold placed below the cut line

Scallop Square corner with fold placed just below the cut line

 
Here’s the order info if you are interested in some creative playtime of your own.
 
Lattice Bigz Die

Stampin’ Up!’s exclusive Lattice Bigz (Order # 115958) die creates delicate designs from any card stock, Designer Series paper, or other material. Use the Lattice design as an elegant overlay or a focal piece on your project. This Lattice die was designed as a repeatable image, allowing you to create beautiful designs on larger projects as well.
■ Can cut through multiple sheets of card stock, Texture Cuts wood sheets, window sheets, Décor Elements sheets, and more
■ Use with Sizzix Big Shot machine and standard cutting pads G281
■ Die size: 5-1/2″ x 6″

Scallop Square Clear Bigz Die 

Stampin’ Up!’s exclusive Large Square Scallop Bigz clear die ( Order # 115950)lets you see the image you want and position it precisely before cutting. This die works wonderfully for cutting photos in a fun shape or for creating a focal point with a specific area of a Designer Series paper pattern. The scallop square shape is perfect for many projects, such as frames, journaling blocks, and accents.
■ Creates a 4-3/8″ x 4-3/8″ scalloped square
■ Can cut through multiple sheets of card stock, Texture Cuts wood sheets, window sheets, and more
■ Use with Sizzix Big Shot machine and standard cutting pads
■ Die size: 5-1/2″ x 6″
 
So go out and play and as always let your designing eye wander down an alternate path once in awhile!
 
Hugs and blessings – Jean
 
 
One Response

  1. […] up made use of our wonderful Lattice die (also featured in this post) and a series of punches.  As a spinner and weaver with a thing for sheep I have to say I loved […]

Leave a Reply

