Fun Fact: “Courage” stamp set

About the new ” Courage” stamp set on page 67 of our new catalog:

Courage stamp set page 67

I’m sure quite a few of you already know the answer to this conundrum but for those of us less well informed….

In the stamp set Courage on page 67 of the new catalog has anybody else noticed the reversed flag on the service person’s uniform?   

Someone asked me if that was an error that no one had noticed?  Have to say I hadn’t really noticed myself until the question was asked,  but once I did I couldn’t stop thinking about it.   Then another demo (Janet Wakefield) on a recent blog hop put the question in a Scavenger hunt questionnaire so I just knew there had to be an answer!    So with the help of Google (yeah I know I’m always talking about Google – hee hee) here’s a fun fact I came across that answers the question:

Why is the flag backward on the soldier’s uniform in the Courage stamp set on page 67?

Answer:

From Wikipedia:
The flag is worn with the “appearance” of being backwards on soldiers RIGHT arm to symbolize early American armies which had a flag carrier holding our flag high (which looks backwards from one side while correct from the other). The “backwards” flag signifies this and gives the perception that every soldier is carrying a flag.

And from the military rule book:
When approved for wear, the full-color U.S. flag cloth replica is sewn 1/2 inch below the right shoulder seam of the temperate, hot-weather, enhanced hot-weather, and desert BDU; the BDU field jacket; and the cold-weather uniform. The flag is worn on the right shoulder, because, in the military, the “place of honor” is to a military member’s right.
The full-color U.S. flag cloth replica is worn so that the star field faces forward, or to the flag’s own right. When worn in this manner, the flag is facing to the observer’s right, and gives the effect of the flag flying in the breeze as the wearer moves forward.
The rule dates back to the Army’s early history, when both mounted cavalry and infantry units would designate a standard bearer, who carried the Colors into battle. As he charged, his forward momentum caused the flag to stream back. Since the Stars and Stripes are mounted with the canton closest to the pole, that section stayed to the right, while the stripes flew to the left.

Whichever answer you prefer it’s very cool! So if you get that question and don’t have a military or historians background now you know!    I’ve now copied these answers onto a card I keep in the catalog so I’m ready with the answer when some one asks.  After all a demo is supposed to know these things right??!!

I’m so impressed that SU went for detail and accuracy in their portrayal of a service person in uniform not to mention attempting to include most services in the background graphics of this stamp set.  I also noticed that this service person pictured could be almost any race or gender.  Way to go SU!

Just had to share that tidbit – class dismissed 😀

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

PS:  If you would like to order this set or see some project samples using this set email me or leave a comment with your contact info.  And of course you can use my link to the online store 24/7 and I would be proud to have you select me as your demonstrator.

Leave a Reply

