Decorative Housing: Noel Treats raise the roof!

What’s this you ask….read on…….

So many possibilities for titles when building houses…even paper ones.   Wicketcat was so entranced with the tiny bells and the moveable roof I considered something along the lines of cat shakes bells and house falls down.   If I’d made this house with stripes it could have been the jingle bell jailhouse rocks the roof.  But then I’d have had to fill it with rock candy for the prisoners to work on.  Not sure Wickets teeth would have been up to that…poor boo has some weird tooth or jaw or spider bite thing going on that the vet seems to be stymied by but has her stoically miserable and waiting for relief.    She’s going in for an orthodontic style x-ray this week so hopefully that will provide an answer.    If it’s indeed spider or other bug venom we may have to just wait for it to clear her system.  Not an answer she will be happy with.

This little house box is something I learned how to make at last July’s Stampin’ Up Convention.   Since one of the convention highlights was the introduction of the new Simply Score many of the projects there centered around that very cool tool.   Now that I have that tool in the house I can’t seem to stop building things with it.   Of course its good for simply scoring card bases too but boy is it capable of so much more.

 And while you’ll see I made mine a Noel Christmas box you can of course vary the colors, papers and other embellishments for any season or occasion.  I’m contemplating a bridal version for spring…all in White!  Might make a cute house for presenting the bride her garter at a shower or a slinky negligee.    Cute too as a welcome to your first home.   Hm…wonder if I should be offering these to local realtors?  What do you think…if you were buying a house would you like to receive one of these? 

 

Donna Griffith  a fellow demo who also works for Stampin’ Up Corporate  presented this house box project and I fell instantly in love with it (and with the scoring tool as well).   Luckily she also provided us with a template for the scoring and cutting and all dimensions.   Good thing too or I’d still be hounding her for it – LOL.   I’ve added that template to this post to in case you want to try your own.

 

As you can see my Noel House makes use of a number of Holiday Mini products.  The tiny Jingle Bells, the Frostwood Lodge Designer Series Paper and of course my beloved Silver Glimmer Paper.   Boy do I hope that paper continues past the end of the mini.  Just in case I’m stocking up…you might want to as well.

I introduced this at a recent Gifts to Make Stamp Camp earlier in the month and it was an instant wow.   I had a little fun with the ladies who didn’t realize 1) this was a box and 2) just how much it would hold.    I stuffed an entire knitted scarf into it!  All 6 feet of it!   Then I slowly drew it out like a magician with one of those endless scarf tricks.   Luckily my scarf was a narrow one so I was able to cram it all in there.  Pretty impressive if I do say so myself.    Generally speaking you may want to keep the contents just a wee bit less compact.

 With a few alterations, I figure I can put together a village of different heights, colors and styles.     This little guy is also the reason I’m stocking up on the Holiday Mini’s mini jingle bells.   I still have a few more to make as Epiphany gifts (the traditional time to exchange gifts in many countries) so am ordering bells like crazy before they go bye-bye on January 3rd.  They do go pretty far but with 7 bells per house it still requires quite a few sets for the number of villages I seem to be creating.

Speaking of the bells I learned a very fun trick for stitching them on.  You’ll see a wire threader referred to in the directions and its one I made myself.    My SU partner Cheryl is a former jewelry maker and had several spools of very thin wire so for each person attending the Stamp Camp I snipped about a 7 inch piece folded it in half and showed them how to use it as both a thread puller and a needle for the project.   An easy peasy tool that impressed almost as much as the little house itself.   The tiny jingle bells have a very small loop at the back that most needles don’t fit through but the wire is the perfect little miracle tool.    Now that I’m addicted to these little guys I may just have to buy a spool of the wire myself.

While the house looks complex let me assure you that once you have your sheet of paper scored its easy enough for anyone including beginners to put together.  An economical gift too that comes in at just under $2 each and takes about  half an hour to complete including the scoring.   Well…depending on how much you chat while stitching the bells…with conversation it might take a tiny bit longer – lol.

Here’s a look at the interior and the underpinnings of the roof.    The roof on this box is attached fully on one side of the peak and then left as a flap tied down with ribbon on the other side.   Of course you could also opt to do both sides with the ribbon thus allowing the roof to be fully removable allowing a larger item easy access to the insides of the box.

            

                                         

Supplies list:

Stamps: Many Merry Messages (Noel Stamp), Or other phrase from Four the Season

Ink: Cherry Cobbler

Paper:  Cherry Cobbler (full sheet scored and cut for basic house box),

Early Espresso (2-3/8” x 6”),  Frostwood Lodge DSP (11”x 2” strip),

Whisper White (5/8” x 3-3/4” scrap for banner)

Ribbon: 1/8” Taffeta Ribbon – Early Espresso – 13”

Other: Paper Piercer and Mat pad, wire threader tool (7″ length of fine wire folded in half), Simply Score, Perfect Pennants die & Big Shot, glue dots, dimensionals, scissors, Jingle Bells (holiday mini), linen thread or baker’s twine (alternate is to glue dot on the bells), Crop a Dile.

Directions:  House Gift Box Directions – Word file

Template:

The template means it when it says it’s not to scale.  Use the measurements (follow the arrows to see the scoring lines they relate to) to locate your score lines.  If you try to build it by printing out the template it won’t work.   The tricky scores are the diagonal lines.  I found that if I placed a light mark at the top of the angle I could then line it up in a score board groove using that mark and a corner.    You may also want to practice on a piece of cheap copy paper before moving to cardstock just to make sure you have the scores and cuts in the right place.   One other note…I actually made my roof piece slightly longer as you’ll see in the directions.  I like a bit more of an overhang. :D

And a downloadable PDF: Donna’s House pattern and scoring template

Here’s a picture of Donna’s Convention Creation.

She made use of the Christmas Lodge Stamp set and the Winter Wishes Stitched Felt as well as the same items I CASE’d.

I hope you enjoy trying this for yourself.  It’s a wonderful sample project for your Simply Score and will impress the recipient with your crafting skills.  

Of course you can always opt to keep them and start your own village.     With my recent marathon viewing of the BBC series Monarch of the Glen I’ve decided to declare myself the Laird of my own little Village in the Glen.   Wicket of course will be the Gillie Gamekeeper.  Now if I could just remember which clan I’m supposed to be descended from.   Time to investigate some genealogical sources.

Hugs and Blessings and I hope your Christmas was a warm and wonderful one. – Jean

P.S.  While it’s still the season…have fun jingling your bells!    It occurred to me that Jingle would be a wonderful name for a Christmas Kitten.

2 Responses

  1. Adorable, Jean! Thanks for including the dimensions!

  2. [...] make a large House of your own you can find the basic directions and template on my old blog post  here.   Decoration and paper choices are entirely up to you.  As you can see I’ve done them [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

