Sunday’s Rogue Thoughts and Playtime peeks = 100th post

Hi All,

I hope you are all having a blessed Sunday.  It’s been a while since I had a chance to sit down and put a Sunday post together.  Not a whole lot of introspection going on around here these days.   Well occasionally in the middle of a sleepless night.  Or one of those weird peri-menopause nights with the following scenario.  Go to sleep laying on my right side until pain has me turning over on my left.  Once settled on my left side the hot flashes begin!   Roll back over to the right and the hot flashes go away the body gets comfortable once again…until of course the pain starts all over again and so does the spinning!    Anyone else have one sided hot flashes??   Seems pretty weird to me!

*****

Note:  As I was wrapping up this post I clicked over to my blog stats and discovered that this will be my 100th post since I started my blog back on July 18th.  Just a wee bit over 3 months ago.  And on top of that I passed the 10,000 hit count yesterday as well.  Thought I should come back here and insert a thank you to all of you who choose to read, subscribe and follow this blog.   And a thanks to the Creator of us all who inspires and instills in us our own brand of creativity.  I’ll be mulling over a blog candy offering but in the mean time my heartfelt thanks to you all.

*****

Still on the high I wrote about in my last newsletter….(ah ha, yup I’m recycling my writing…those of you who get my newsletter for demo’s might recognize this…) and still creating like mad.  Though I did take one day off when all of a sudden the overload from creative energy gone wild set in and quite literally I had no energy for anything…not even eating.  Fine for me not so fine for their majesties the cats!

Whew! Stamp a Stack and Open Studio Day are behind me and I managed to be there for both!  After weeks of seizures I was getting a tad worried but stamping fever won out!  Yay!  Cheryl and Linda and I had a fun time last Saturday sharing our love of stamping and learning a few new tricks.  Cut lots and lots of Jan Tink’s luminaries (keep going back and forth with various names, votive surrounds, votive covers, votive shields, luminaries, luminarias, etc, etc. whatever the name they are fun).  Now I just have to complete a few of them.  Also went nuts making Christmas trees from the new O Christmas Tree die.  As I told my friends I’m no longer a tree virgin!  The scary die sitting on the table has been used….and it turns out to be very, very easy and very, very addicting!!  I find myself looking around and wondering what else I can cut a Christmas tree out of.  Boy would I love to get an order for someone’s Holiday Banquet so I could make a couple of hundred or so!  Sound nuts?  Nope just fun. Stack the pieces – put some music or a book on tape in the player and enter the construction zone.  I’m down to about 5 minutes per tree for the assembly.  Cutting takes a wee bit longer though not much once the paper is cut.  I’ll have pictures on my blog hopefully next week of just a few. I would suggest that for your first attempt you work in cardstock.  As the stiffer material is a bit easier to handle and manipulate until you learn what you are doing.  

 
Now that Fall has arrived I’m grateful for each warm day that comes down the pike (or through the valley in my case – lol!).  Grateful for the rain too as my poor trees are looking a bit dry as are the lilac bushes.  The trees have finally changed color and are beginning to drop their leaves.  The pine trees too are doing their bit to litter the landscape.  Poor deer are still missing the tall stands of brush that disappeared a few weeks ago thanks to modern machinery and the kindness of friends.  Haven’t sighted the kittens under the deck for a few days so I’m wondering if they’ve moved on.  While they are cute it might be easier to get the house sold if someone doesn’t think they have to buy the kittens as well!  Perfect weather for the pot of soup I put together this afternoon.  Looking at the pot now I’m wondering just how many people I was planning to feed when I started it.  Somehow soups and stews always get away from me.  By the time I add a bit of this and oh yeah that could get used up the original portions always seem to double in size.  Kind of like that old story of stone soup.  Turned out yummy especially when paired with open faced ham sandwiches grilled with mustard and mozzarella under the broiler.  Drove the cats nuts even after I gave them some chopped up ham of their own.  Hmmm….they always seem to think my food is better than theirs!  So like a cat!
 

Here’s the project that kicked off the whole Open Studio Day (click the pics for close up shots).  I put these together while waiting for Linda and Cheryl and continued after they came and went just adding to the pile. 

DCP00967

 These tag/ornament/bookmarks made use of two different Big Shot dies and a few punches.

Both the Petal Card die and SU exclusive Two Tags die were used along with circle punches, Wide Oval Punch, Trio Flower Punch and the Round Tab Punch.

Stamp sets used: Christmas Punch a Level Two Hostess set.  A Cardinal Christmas text stamp.  Snowflake, Flower and Flourish from A Season of Joy.  

Papers are Rich Razzleberry, Melon Mambo and Very Vanilla Cardstock.  And a bit of the elastic Silver Cording was used on one and will probably get added to the others as well.

 DCP00969

 Here’s a closeup of the slider that fits inside the petal card. 

It might be hard to see but I stamped the outside and inside of the petal card with the flourish stamp from Season of Joy using Melon Mambo ink on Melon Mambo Cardstock.  The Round Tab Punch piece had the flower from that same set stamped in Rich Razzleberry ink on the RR cardstock.   The inside slider tag had the flower stamped in Melon Mambo using the stamped off technique then the text over stamped in Rich Razzleberry.  Snowflake is also stamped in Melon Mambo and layered with a Rich Razzleberry Circle Punch piece and then adhered with a dimensional that holds the petals of the card closed in order to create the pocket.

 

Here’s a quick peek related to some items that will be shown next week here on the blog. 

DCP01031_edited

 The tree was cut using Very Vanilla Cardstock and the new O Christmas Tree die featured in the Holiday Mini.  Then each cut piece was run through the Finial Press Impressions Folder and then assembled and spritzed with Shimmer Mist (spray made using the new Shimmer Paints added to alcohol).

The card is a little 3×3 perfect for a gift enclosure or table decoration (could even be a place card if you put a person’s name in place of the Give Thanks stamp from the Holiday Best hostess set.  I created the wreath using three colors of ink (More Mustard, Always Artichoke and Real Red) and the berry stamp from the stamp set Always.  I’ll have more details in next weeks post that will feature this wreath in a number of projects.  With luck I’ll even get some step by step pictures taken to show you how I made the wreath.

DCP01032_edited

Here’s a close up – albeit a blurry one.  Anyone know why when I crop my pictures to get rid of extraneous background the picture gets blurry?  Only happens with my camera shots not the scanner pics.   Unfortunately my scanner is resisting the healing I’ve been trying to effect by laying on of hands and prayer so for now I’m stuck with the camera.

 

 

 

Here’s a grouping of just a few of the trees I created this last week.  I’ll be posting about them in the near future as well. 

DCP01053DCP01062_edited

I’ve been hearing from some of you that snow is already flying in the Midwest and some parts of the East Coast.  Winter seems to be trying to move in early this year.  For the rest of you get out and enjoy the Autumn colors and leaves and cooler temps and whatever bits of stray sunshine you can find.  Winter will be here all too soon and Daylight Savings time ends next weekend.  For myself it’s time to put the stamps away for a bit and get back into a well ordered round of long walks, prayer, praise and generally dipping back into the life I’ve put on hold for the last week.  Need to take some time to cuddle with the cats as well. 

One other thing I’ve been meaning to mention….

I’ve added a few new buttons to the righthand sidebar of my blog.   One for the Hungersite helps feed the world with just a click.  No contributions required. Though I can highly recommend their Fair Trade store and products.  Most years that’s where I do my Christmas Shopping and every purchase provides more cups of food.  Now with money tight to the point of strangulation I can still feel good about clicking over there daily to make my clicks that sponsors then register and provide food based on the number of clicks received that day.  So please when you stop by and visit don’t forget to click so others can eat.

I’ve also added a button to Mercy Corps International.  A very well respected aid organization that functions worldwide – even in places the US government won’t go.  They have one of, if not the highest percentage of direct funded aid of any NGO (non governmental organization).  They keep their costs as low as possible with mostly volunteer staff and partner with others to match with grants the amounts raised.  They too have ways to help even if money is tight.  So please go and check them out and support them if you can.

And for the four footed felines and pups we all love there is a button that also provides food for clicks as well as some fun trivia and games.  Sign up for their reminder emails and click daily and know that you are providing food for less fortunate animals than your own.

That’s the list and the end of the appeals for your goodness and generosity.  Stampers I’ve discovered have giving hearts and caring souls and I’m blessed to call you all Friend.

Hugs and blessings and God grant you Peace and Joy in his infinite wisdom and mercy to each according to their need.

Joyfully in Him – Jean

One Response

  1. [...] the basic 3×3 starter version I showed you in Sunday’s post here.  As I mentioned Sunday these would also make great place cards or place notes for everyone to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

